Hay / Հայ | Рус | Eng | Tür
USD 408.20, EUR 416.32, RUB 6.61, GBP 486.74
+24 °C, +15 °C ... +30 °C Tomorrow:+31 °C
Roberta Metsola elected new president of European Parliament
14:48, 18.01.2022 |
5157 | 0

Anti-abortion MEP Roberta Metsola has been elected to succeed David Sassoli as the president of the European Parliament.

Metsola, a member of the right-wing EPP group from Malta, was among four candidates for the position, alongside Spain's Sira Rego (radical left), Poland's Kosma Zlotowski (ECR, Eurosceptics) and Sweden's Alice Bah Kuhnke (Greens).

Each made their case to their fellow MEPs in Strasbourg on Tuesday to succeed Sassoli, who died on 11 January and whose term of office ended this week.

Share with friends
| |
to top